Promises of Old

imagesCAZ58Q8F
(Picture from here.)

With Mother’s Day around the corner, I thought I’d honor the mother of my own four!

Promises of Old
The rain below bows to the sun
Who when the misty torrents done
Displays her colors through the shade
Arched high above all that was made
Keeping promises of old.

So like that mighty archway set
Is my love above regret
Ore storms which flooded all my course
Her colors shone against the worst
Keeping promises of old.

And slowly as her light reveals
The power of a love that heals
Whose heat restores to lands below
Their beauty once again bestowed
Keeping promises of old.

Sweetest light, and sun, and love
You are my rainbow high above
And by your steady warmth I can
Love you as sky is loved by land
Keeping promises of old.

(To Anita, August 9, 2010)

This entry was posted in Poetry.

Leave a Reply

