Jacob’s Ladder

ladder

Black. Lives. Matter.
Take the hopes and dreams of the System, make ‘em shatter,
Lettin’ loose on the beat like I got a weak bladder;
Stay in with the people, while I’m climbing Jacob’s Ladder.

Going up yet down like an Escher picture,
Drinkin’ Living water, no extra mixture;
Black. Male. Endangered Species.
Original glory, yet treated like feces.

Hooded king walkin’ in the nighttime, fearless;
Police targets on me, but my peace is peerless.
I don’t fear death at all, so it’s all whatever,
But it’s a damn shame I gotta worry ‘bout a sweater…

…with a hood, because of my melanin,
Cops ready to swoop down on me like a pelican;
But in the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil
‘Cause the Love who will raise me from death has no equal.

(Dwayne Polk)

This entry was posted in Poetry.

Leave a Reply

