To my friend, Greg Boyd

greg-cruxCongrats to Greg on the publication of a decade (at least) of research and hard work. I don’t know anybody whose passion level approaches Greg’s when he sinks his teeth into a project. He stuck with this, saw it through, and so congrats are in order! His new work is a massive effort of love that deserve serious reflection and review.

I love this man. He made himself accessible to me, opened his home and heart, and inspired my own intellectual appetite. The fact that I disagree so strongly with the Christology that underpins his new work is due in part to him. But I don’t want to get ahead of myself. When I’ve finished CWG (Crucifixion of the Warrior God), I hope to blog through a review of it. There will doubtless be much to agree with, and plenty of insight to celebrate. But since nobody inside Greg’s circle who knows his work well is likely to disagree with him on anything like Orthodox grounds, we hope to share our own perspective on it in due time.

In the meantime, Greg – ponder thisThere is another way the Cross can heal the world without simply making God the truth of its pain.

 

Leave a Reply

